Stroll – for the new month

Stroll

First of the month.
Pinch ‘n’ a punch!
White rabbits!

Yank on those bootstraps
and bloody get on with it.

March. March. March.

My bootstraps snapped
back in January.
My laces swell-locked.
I was waterlogged.
Weighting to drown.

I bludged through February
in fearful floods, knived grit
wretching every tread.

Had to cut myself free.

It’s still chilly. Will be
for quite some miles I’m sure.

I stretch my toes, sock them
and nestle in pink trainers
for bounce. Not quite
sandals weather yet.

But I bare my neck,
scarf tongue-flicking the wind.
The plucky sun: it’s trying.

A long way to go.
There’s no hurry.
Now I will stroll.

 

7 responses to “Stroll – for the new month

  1. A targeted scatter shot* with a side order of whimsy. Tip the waiter.

    * http://www.wowhead.com/spell=19503/scatter-shot

  2. Strolling! Lets hope we’re not trudging through something white – there’s still time!! Great poem Holly x

  3. The wordplay is a delight to read in this poetic escapade – very well done.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3,225 other followers

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 27,257 hits
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,225 other followers

